25 day challenge: Day 10 &11

2 days to recoup from my car accident.  Not that I was hurt since I was in the house when my parked car was crashed into, but it was the 2 hours of standing in the rain to stop the driver from fleeing the scene with her attempt with having a tow truck come in and take her car away.

2 days to work with insurance, getting a loaner car, planning 2 birthday weeks for my 2 bffs.  I am exausted.  This blog is my escape today.

I was not at all following my 25 days promise of working out everyday and no alcohol.  I was so stressed out I needed to de-stress with a glass of old fashion from Parlour in Minneapolis (http://minnesota.cbslocal.com/2013/11/01/curiocity-mikes-mix-parlour-old-fashioned/).   It was just what I needed to unwind.  Below is the recipe:

Ingredients
2 oz. Old Grand Dad 114
1 oz. Jim Beam Rye
.25 oz. Piloncillo*
3 dashes of Trinity Bitters (equal parts of Bittercube’s Bolivar, Orange, and Cherry Bark Vanilla)
Garnish: Cherry Skewer and Orange Peel

*Piloncillo (Mexican cone sugar) can be found at all Hispanic markets. Use 1 cup of water per cone, put in medium sized saucepan over medium heat, reduce down into a syrup. (Usually it takes about 20 minutes.)

Tools Needed
Jigger (for measuring)
Mixing glass (a pint glass is fine)
Stirring mechanism (a bar spoon is ideal)

Directions
Combine all ingredients in a mixing glass, fill with ice, stir until desired dilution and temperature. Strain into an Old Fashioned glass filled with fresh ice.

I did manage to take a picture of one of my quick dinner last night.  I literally opened a package of tuna, chopped up some capers, tomato slices, feta cheese on Norwegian crackers.  I also had some olives bought from Lunds grocery store.  Very quick, very lean and very cheap!  food

The car cost $8K to fix and $1k of deductible.  Note to self and others:  ALWAYS ALWAYS call your insurance agent when you know nothing to do immediately after a car crash.  When you are involved in an accident, no matter if you are the one who got crashed or on the other side, you will not be able to concentrate and think.  So, today, if you don’t have your insurance agent’s phone number that you can contact 24/7, then get it.  Better be safe than sorry!

At night, when everyone has gone to bed and the night covers the earth.  I laid in the comfort of my own bed in the safety of the 4 walls of my bedroom, and my head was filled with worries about the cost, about my heart in a seem to be right but wrong relationship, about my career not impacting the lives of people, the only thing I knew to do was to put my head down and pray.  I prayed for grace to forgive the person with no insurance, I prayed for peace in my heart and I pray for hope in my future.

God… in all situation, good or bad, is still and always has been great.  This is what I need to know to continue to move on.

Another day is to come… 1 more day… 1 more step…

Leave a Reply

