25 day challenge: Day 8

It is Monday today.  I woke up this morning praying God to bless this day with grace and patience and kindness.  i asked for patience, and sometimes I actually thought I might have asked for the wrong thing.  When you ask for something, God doesn’t just give you that.  Instead, He gives you the opportunity to be patient and to be kind, and you really have to be patient and kind then.  I have little to no patience, so these opportunities have been the most challenging parts of my life.  

Morning routine: lemon, honey, cayenne pepper mix drink with 3 cloves of garlic.  Today, to tone down the garlic taste, I cut up the garlic, left it out for 5 minutes and then dump all into a cup of boiling water and let it steep for a few more minutes.  “Heating garlic without letting it sit has been found to deactivate the enzyme that is responsible for the formation of alliicin. However, if you have allowed your Garlic to sit for 5-10 minutes, you can cook it on low or medium heat for a short period of time (up to 15 minutes) without destroying the alliicin. This is because letting it sit not only ensures the maximum synthesis of the alliicin, but also makes it more stable and resistant to the heat of cooking.” http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=george&dbid=136

It was an insane day at work.  People are leaving, and new people are coming in.  Life is so ever changing.  Though I love changes, and I welcome new things, it is still a bit hard to say bye to people you have known for a long time.  We went out as a team to welcome a new team member and to say goodbye to one who was leaving us.  Bittersweet really…. 

In an effort to stay healthy in a sport bar (my team consisted of all males and 2 females, myself included).  I ordered the worst chicken wrap I had ever tasted in my life.  I should had stuck with soup or something else.  

I came back from lunch and drank as much tea as I could to “detox” myself from the lunch I just had. You can buy this tea at target for about $5.  It is a great detox tea, and it tastes better than other brands out there.  

detox

I brought 3 flans to my sister.  She loved flans.  I made myself some cucumber with a side of a Vietnamese shrimp paste mixed with lime, sugar, pressed garlic and chili.  Then I also made myself an omelet with butter and chives.  My sister wanted spaghetti so my brother in law whipped up his homemade sauce and cooked spaghetti for the rest of the family.  I was never a fan of spaghetti.  

Havana-flannuoc-cham-jpg-1357193259-1357193478_500x0

I came home, debated for 10 minutes if I should play my jazz playlist, I was not ready.  Instead, I started playing Whitney Houston’s radio with the opening song “I look to you,” and I began to dance.  Following her song was John Legend’s “Ordinary People”

I know i misbehaved
And you made your mistakes
And we both still got room left to grow
………….
And we’ll make this thing work
But I think we should take it slow

We’re just ordinary people
We don’t know which way to go
Cuz we’re ordinary people
……….
This time we’ll take it slow

In my head, I thought…. at least they were willing to take a 2nd chance to take it slow….. maybe our mistake was too big to start again… maybe we weren’t meant to be….

I swirled and danced around with the music in my apartment.  Then I saw my hula hoop.  I used to love doing hula hoop when I was little.  My mom used to tie 4 hula hoops together, and gave them for me to play with.  She told me that would help with my waist line.  I am a firm believer of that claim because all my friends have told me how tiny my waste is.  In addition, “Hula hooping engages your core and midsection continuously, which can help tone the muscles around your waist. The repetitive back-and-forth swinging motion burns a significant amount of calories. Hula hooping for at least 10 minutes on a regular basis, coupled with a balanced and nutritious diet, can help you lose weight in the long-term.”  http://www.livestrong.com/article/438506-does-hula-hooping-slim-your-waist/

Oh, besides the little hula hoop action, I did not work out today.  However, I did take the stairs up to my floor this morning.  Sometimes when you are sick, you just have to take a chill day.

For a late snack, I wanted something light and easy on the stomach.  Cream of wheat would be amazing.  It is not only a “good source of protein and an excellent source of fiber,” it is also not expensive at all to buy.  Here is some more information about the benefits of cream of wheat http://healthyliving.azcentral.com/health-benefits-cream-wheat-vs-oatmeal-cereal-17170.html.  The entire box cost between $3-$7 depending on the brand you use.  I try to stay organic so usually its in the $5-$7.  So good and so affordable.  

Time for bed.  Another Monday down… many more to look forward to! Good night!

Leave a Reply

