25 days challenge: Day 3

I learned my lesson from yesterday so I set my alarm for 6:00 am.  I went to bed at 10:27 last night to maximize my sleeping hours.  Not only do I believe in sleep and its health benefits in terms of reducing the chance of Alzheimer’s, I also love sleeping! (http://www.webmd.com/alzheimers/news/20131021/could-a-good-nights-sleep-guard-against-alzheimers)

6:00, alarm went off, and my first instinct was to hit the snooze button. I don’t remember how many times I snoozed but when 6:40 came, I did not want to wake up. I did a quick prayer: “God please help me wake up somehow because I just can’t.”  At 6:43 I received a text from my friend from DC confirming our lunch meeting for this Saturday.  I am up!  Little did my friend know she was my little miracle this morning!

I need to get new sport bras.  A great place for cheap and good sport bras that I found is actually Marshals.  I also have a lot of luck with sport pants there.  I shopped at Lucy’s once, it’s a high end athletic store in The Galleria, Edina, MN.  But now I can’t really justify spending more than $70 on a piece of workout clothes.  Maybe one day I can.  Same goes for Lululemon.  If these stores contribute back to the countries where they manufacture these expensive products with a such a cheap cost, I would be happy to buy all their products because quite frankly, they are very cute and comfortable.

Ran/Walked 2 more miles.  Oh the glory of a morning run!  The smell of dew on grass, the sound of water flowing in the creek, the brisk breeze in the back of your neck…. all of it made it worth it to drag myself out of my comfortable bed into my running shoes.

photo 3

Ended the run with a big glass of warm water and EmergenC mix.

Breakfast: 2 eggs with cottage cheese.  It sounded bad, but it actually tasted great.  I have random cravings, and cottage cheese is my current craving of the month!

Since I did not have time for my 7 minute workout, I made it up by walking up 16 flights of stairs this morning at work.  It is actually only 8 floors but each floor consists of 2 flights of stairs! (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/flight+of+stairs)

Lunch: Leftover lamb with quinoa and salad.  I don’t really think I like leftover lamb much.  When lamb is not hot and sizzling, you can definitely taste the gaminess of the meat.  Not to mention, it does not look so sophisticated and exotic in a cubical at work.

Appetizer: Stir fried Chayote.   I wanted a taste of home and the feeling of home, so I pilled up my plate with as much Chayote on my plate as possible.  Since Chayote is a low-calorie and fiber-rich vegetable, I never feel guilty pigging out.  Moreover, Chayote has a natural sweetness to it, so when you cook it, you don’t really want to put too much flavor, a spoon of fish sauce or a few dash of salt and pepper is enough.  Such a tasty and healthy dish with so little effort to cook.

photo 1

Dinner:  My brother in law made chicken roulade with cheese and bacon served on a bed of homemade tomato sauce!  I am so spoiled.  

photo

Desert: Water melons

Guilty Pleasure: a handful of my niece’s after school snack: caramel popcorn.  I figured she’s only 18 months, she shouldn’t finish the whole bag of popcorn by herself, so I should help her out.  That’s the benefit of being a cool aunt, you get to give your niece all the best toys that can make noise, and you get a share of all of her snacks.

Surprise Element: my sister decided to make homemade corn milk  made from fresh pressed corn with condensed milk and heavy whipping cream.  It tasted just like the ones my mom used to buy for us as treats late at night.  There is only one conclusion I can draw from this: my family must love me….. 

photo

Final work out of the day: playing bubbles with my niece in the yard.  

Leave a Reply

